Starosloviensky Pivovar, Where the Foam Comes Free

So there I was, all ready to start writing a post about Slovak wine. I even have a glass of wine in my hand, for Goodness sake. But I remember someone saying to me the other day I hadn’t written enough about places to go for a drink in Bratislava yet (which is surprising, because I like drinking a lot) and this place seemed the obvious candidate, namely because I spent an evening there last week getting wasted.

Inside the Pivobar...

Inside the Pivobar…

So there we go. Starosloviensky Pivovar is a place that sticks in your memory – boozily veering between the sophisticated and the raucous, but with a beer selection that most locals say is better than Meštiansky Pivobar and with food that’s certainly way better than Slovak Pub (to equate it to another boozy Bratislava joint serving food).

Starosloviensky Pivovar, if you still have time for a beer having uttered its name, is on Vysoká, which is the street that loops around the back of Obchodná and comes out again by the Austria Trend Hotel. The location is great. Vysoká is an infinitely nicer street than Obchodná on which to hang and, what with the Film Hotel on the same block has a kind of antiquated Broadway-in-the-1920s feel to it. It’s got an outside area of decking (nice when the temperature gets into the plusses) and big rustic wooden tables inside.

The beer selection? Great – the delicious hoppy Stupavar, brewed just north of Bratislava, and the Pressburg – particularly the weisenbier and the radler – were two very complex beers – a relief from the Zlatý Bažant-dominated beer scene in Slovakia. I can recommend it as a decent after-work (or, if you’re a tourist, even after-breakfast) spot for a drink in this area of town (compared to the other pivovars in Bratislava this one is more laid-back and popular with a younger crowd) but what got me was that, for a place that has its own brewery, they have no idea how to pour beer. When the first glasses came with pena (foam) we queried it, got the response that the barman did not know how to pour drinks, and promptly got served two more with equally foamy heads. Foam, let me tell you, that represented nearly a quarter of the glass. A way of economising? Bad service? Whatever the reason, be warned that for every five glasses of beer you buy, one will be foam. And despite this I liked the place.

Location: Vysoká 15

Open: Until 11pm

An article about Bratislava’s Pivobars

This entry was posted in BRATISLAVA & AROUND, Food & Drink - Pubs and Bars and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Starosloviensky Pivovar, Where the Foam Comes Free

  1. I appreciate, result in I found just what I used to be taking a
    look for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

  2. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple
    adjustements would really make my blog srand out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme. Thank you

  3. Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any html coding knowledge to make your own
    blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  4. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that
    would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  5. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and
    thought I might as well check things out. I like what
    I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking into your web
    page for a second time.

  6. Thanks for finally talking about >Starosloviensky Pivovar, Where the Foam Comes Free | englishmaninslovakia <Liked it!

  7. Hi! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog such as yours take a lot of work?
    I’m brand new to blogging but I do write in my journal on a daily basis.

    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!

  8. Gabriella says:

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I am hoping to see the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own
    blog now 😉

  9. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just
    sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to
    everything. Do you have any tips for novice blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  10. Greetings! I’ve been following your website for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out
    from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

Leave a comment